October 4, 2017

Susumu Kitagawa wins Solvay Prize

Director Kitagawa

On September 28, Solvay, a world-leading chemical company headquartered in Brussels, Belgium, announced the awarding of the 2017 Chemistry for the Future Solvay Prize to iCeMS Director Susumu Kitagawa.

The Solvay Prize recognizes major scientific discoveries that lay the foundation for the "chemistry of the future" while also promoting human progress. It was created in 2013 to be given out every two years. The 2015 awardee, Professor Ben Feringa, went on to receive the 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Kitagawa is cited for his work in developing metal organic frameworks (MOFs), a new class of materials with a range of potential future applications, including the capturing of polluting gases.

The award ceremony will be held on November 22 at the Palais des Académies in Brussels in the presence of His Majesty King Philippe of Belgium.

Related links

Solvay | Press Release

Kyoto University | KUIAS Professor Kitagawa wins Solvay Prize (28 September 2017)