May 14, 2019

iCeMS Director Susumu Kitagawa receives Emanuel Merck Lectureship 2019

iCeMS Director Professor Susumu Kitagawa was awarded this year’s Emanuel Merck Lectureship, for his outstanding scientific work in the field of Porous Coordination Polymers (PCPs) /Metal Organic Frameworks (MOFs).

This Lectureship was jointly established by Merck, a German international pharmaceutical, chemical and life sciences company, and the Technical University of Darmstadt (TU Darmstadt) in 1992. The award has been granted to globally renowned scientists who have made remarkable contributions to chemical or pharmaceutical research. To date, the award has recognized 16 eminent scientists including three Nobel laureates in chemistry; Drs Manfred Eigen, Jean-Marie Lehn, Frances Hamilton Arnold.

Kitagawa was honored for his contributions to the development of innovative nanoporous materials that could lead to new ways of capturing, storing and releasing gases like in a cage whose bars are so small gas molecules could be locked in it.

The award ceremony was held on May 13, 2019 at the campus of TU Darmstadt, and Kitagawa gave a lecture on "Welcome to Small Spaces - Chemistry and Application of Porous Coordination Polymers /Metal-Organic Frameworks".


Kitagawa with the award certification
The “juggler” trophy bestowed to Kitagawa